Relient K

They must have done something right totally describes the new sound from Relient K’s fifth album, “Five Score & Seven Years Ago.” Starting off with an A Cappella “Pleading the Fifth,” lead vocalist/guitarist/pianist, Matt Thiessen, provided the sounds, vocally painting a picture from the viewpoint of a turn-of-the-century man who theorizes the possibility of a conspiracy in the proclaimed assassination of President Abraham Lincoln. This song uses a clever play of words about the album’s title.
Sounding closer to their previous albums, “I Need You,” is a cry out to God. “Forgiven,” tells us that we are all guilty of the same thing, sin, and how we all need to be forgiven. The title track, “Must Have Done Something Right,” leaves you bouncing to its happy beat and melodic hook. The silly, “Crayons Can Melt on Us for All,” and ending with the dramatic “Deathbed,” that lasts for over ten minutes, weaving a story of a man telling of his life and how on his deathbed, God is with him.
With original guitarist, Matt Hoopes and drummer Dave Douglas, bassist John Warne, and Jon Schneck. Relient K spotlights each of the members` talents, while still staying true to who they are; the Ohio based punkrock band that loves playing in Skater Parks.
By: Kris Brown Gabbitas

I'm racking my brain for a new improved way
To let you know you mean more to me than what I know how to say